Skip To Main Content

Academics at NOHS

General Information

All students in grades 9, 10, and 11 must schedule at least seven (7) credits.  Four of those seven credits must be core credits (English, Math, Science, and Social Studies).  Students must build schedules aligned to meet the graduation requirements. Certain core courses, as well as general electives, will require a practical number of registrants before being offered.  In choosing electives, students are asked to choose alternate electives in order of their preference. If more students than can be accommodated choose an elective, seniors will be given preference, then juniors, etc.  Some electives require a fee to be paid to help offset the costs of materials used to create student projects.

Course Leveling Descriptions

Each course name is followed by one of the following: L1, L2, L3, or L4. These indicate the weight and level of each subject as follows:

Level 1 – (Weight 1.00) (Career)

These courses are designed for students planning to continue their education at a trade or technical school or to enter the workforce after high school.  Level one courses may also be used to explore areas of interest or to develop skills needed for survival in the adult world.  Level one courses are not designed to prepare students for a four-year college.

Level 2 – (Weight 1.10) (College Prep)

These courses are designed to prepare students for either the world of work or for some form of education beyond high school, including trade and technical schools, and two and four-year colleges.

Level 3 – (Weight 1.20) (Honors/College in the High School)

These courses are designed to prepare students for entry into four-year colleges or universities.

Level 4 – (Weight 1.30) (Advanced Placement/College in the High School/Dual Enrollment)

These rigorous courses are designed to prepare students for entry into highly competitive four-year colleges or universities.  Students may earn college credits at the conclusion of these courses pending successful AP exam scores or course grades (CHS courses require a “C” or higher to obtain college credits).

Subjects are weighted according to levels of rigor.  Weighting does not affect the honor roll or credits.
The weight is a reward to those students who take the more challenging subjects.  The weighting increases the Grade Point Average (GPA.).  This weighted average is referred to as the Quality Point Average (QPA) and improves class standing.  For example, a student who takes a Level 1 (1.00) subject will have his GPA increased by 0 percent, a Level 2 (1.10) by 10 percent, a Level 3 (1.20) by 20 percent, and a Level 4 (1.30) by 30 percent.  Thus, a student who earns a Level 1 (1.00) grade of "B" earns a QPA of 3.00, a Level 2 (1.10) grade of "B" earns a QPA of 3.30, a Level 3 (1.20) grade of "B" earns a QPA of 3.60, and a Level 4 (1.30) grade of “B” earns a QPA of 3.90.  

Rankings will only be shared based on 10 percent groupings or deciles.  The groupings will be determined based on the class size.  If a numerical rank is needed for a specific scholarship, the student’s school counselor will release it directly to the college or scholarship committee upon request.